LeilaAbuSaba

A Heart for Lebanon

In blogging, family life, Lebanon on October 19, 2009 at 5:41 pm

I just received an email about Leila’s passing from someone who went to the American Community School in Beirut. I did not know her first hand but we had corresponded back in 2005 and a few occasions after that, most recently in early 2008. When we first corresponded I learned that her father had been a student of my father in Sidon at Gerard when dad taught there in the late 40s. She gave her dad my dad’s phone number and they spoke on the phone.

Leila also told me that when she was eight and living in Mieh Mieh, after I had left Sidon she would go to our house and read our books. In particular she remembers The Three Musketeers. I read her blogs from time to time.

My condolences on her passing to her family. She was a special person with a heart for Lebanon, the Middle East and its many peoples.

Phil Hanna
Columbia, Kentucky

