LeilaAbuSaba

Upon Her Passing

In cancer, CCA, food on October 14, 2009 at 8:42 pm

I only knew Leila for a short time many years ago when we both worked at the California Culinary Academy.  She had recently come from New York.  Sometimes we had lunch together and talked about this and that.  Many years later I found her.  Can’t remember how but I did.  She had already had cancer but was full of the kind of spunk that says, “I’m fighting this and I’m going to win.”  I grieve her passing.  I lost my mother when I was 22 and I think of her children and it makes me cry.  It is simply a terrible thing.  As I come into my 62nd year, I sigh and think about how it still feels terrible to have lost a beloved mother so young.  I pray that her family will find peace in the love they shared with her and that time will bring another opportunity for mothering.

Blessings to those left behind, Blessings to  Leila wherever you are.
Maia

